"Failure is simply the opportunity to begin again, this time more intelligently"

60 Day Challenge: Day 1

IMG_0511

318.8 lbs
January 21, 2012

THE BEGINNING………AGAIN

I sat here trying to figure out how to start this blog. The reality is that I’ve been in this position many times before and it just seems too redundant. I messed up in the last 5 months – didn’t pay attention; wait scratch that – I actually did pay attention to what I was eating but didn’t care about it that much.

Here are some things I knew I was doing wrong but didn’t anyway:

- Carbo loaded late at night: I am talking about 2 or 3 in the morning.

- Bought high caloric entrees when I went out and binged as if I was starving.

- Didn’t get proper sleep

- stopped working out, running, walking, hiking

- Ate tubs of ice-cream to cope with stress.

What can I say: A lot has changed in the past 5 months – and I am back to where I started a year ago. Matter of fact, I am actually at a worse place then when I started: Here is an excerpt from one of my blogs on January 17, 2012

Just a little history on the weight issue: As of June 13, 2011 – I weighed a whopping 312 pounds and a BMI of 41.16. Ridiculous, I know. The feeling of sluggishness and embarrassment overwhelmed me. Of course one would ask “How did I get here” – evidently I knew exactly how that happened and it was simply binging on food. According to the BMI charts – I became Morbidly Obese and highly prone to weight related diseases and premature death. Since then, I have brought my BMI down to 36.83 moving from the Morbid Obesity category to Obese. The target BMI is 24.9 which brings me down to my ideal (normal) weight.

So my challenge is 25 days to lose a respectable amount of weight before developing a workout plan with our schools personal trainer. Simple?  Well its simply challenging and hey, I’m always down for a good challenge.

Well this is where I am at:

I am 6’1 – 279.2 lbs

BMI: 36.83

img_0099

June 17, 2012

SO what can I say now that I already haven’t said a year ago…or the year before that? It’s rather sad actually but hey – it doesn’t hurt to keep trying right?

Here goes 60 days of getting back on track. And today – that meant getting back in the gym – yes THE GYM. And Oh, it was good to get back in there – laid 6.01 miles on the treadmill and reminded myself that it’s going to be okay…this next 60 days are gonna fly by quick – just have to stay focused.

So even in this sadness, I still have hope – hope to do what I have already accomplished before – hope to tear up this challenge with stronger purpose…hope to get back on the road to a healthy lifestyle…

Here we go……………..AGAIN !

6 responses

  1. Denise Morris

    Hugs to you, brother. Thank you for your transparency as this certainly fuels all of us who can’t admit our issues to strive to become who God created us to be….loveable, worthwhile and successful people. It is then that we feel and know that joy that we can freely glorify our Creator. God loves us know matter what…it is ‘us’ who lays disdain on ourselves which creates distance in all aspects of true joyful living. Today, I will strive to make healthy choices to honor what God has put in my charge. …. I am with you, Ken! I know on March 23, God willing, I will be soaring with vibrant health from the choices I will make on a daily basis.

    January 23, 2013 at 2:51 pm

    • Denise – you are such an encouragement. Thank you for talking time to read this blog and also for your kind words of truth. I appreciate it very much.

      January 24, 2013 at 2:41 am

      • Denise Morris

        Just so you know, I am in this with you. I have put 10# back on since last year this time and plan to have it gone by the time your challenge is over! Praying daily for renewed strength ! For me, I had an incredible day with right choices in food and exercise! Glad your day went well! Can’t wait to find out how you manage today!

        January 24, 2013 at 4:02 pm

  2. Sarah Stevens

    Two years ago, I attended one Weight Watchers meeting. Six months later, I went back, only to hear a woman being acknowledged for her 20# weight loss. I turned to my friend and said, “That could have been me!” She said, “Six months from now that could be YOU!” I didn’t go back.

    Fast forward to today and not only do I have my original 20# to lose, but an additional 15#! This might not sound overwhelming to you, but a weight loss struggle is a struggle no matter the amount. Although I’m only 51, I just had a heart attack – even though all blood work is great, heart is strong, no damage, no blockage, etc. I think it was my wake-up call. Abdominal fat is dangerous.

    My journey starts now. I’m in it to win it right along with you! Here’s to the next 60 days!

    January 27, 2013 at 3:54 am

    • Sarah :) Here’s to the next 60 days for sure. Keep me updated – I would love to hear more on your weight loss journey and would like to encourage you along the way. Wake up calls are definite motivators – and am excited to see you tackle this struggle one day at a time.

      You can do this :D Thank you for commenting on the blog and sharing this journey with me.

      January 29, 2013 at 7:38 pm

  3. Thanks a lot for providing individuals with an exceptionally marvellous opportunity to read in detail from this blog. It’s usually so enjoyable and full of amusement for me personally and my office friends to search your blog particularly three times every week to see the fresh tips you have got. And of course, I’m so actually impressed for the wonderful advice you give. Certain 2 areas in this posting are rather the most impressive I’ve had.

    January 28, 2013 at 8:34 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.